Intellect – Buddhi (part 2) [Lessons]

Standard

Read the article in the sequence of parts.

When we see the national geographic channel, we are surprised to look at the animals and we appreciate their happiness! No stress….each animal has a peculiar nature and specific skill and weakness. But they are not bothered and live a happy life.

Only human beings are gifted with intellect. Animals don’t have intellect. They do not take any decisions. They have a set in programme to perform. They don’t have any choices in life to choose. Say a lion cannot decide to become a vegetarian. They are born with certain nature and they die with the same nature. Of all the animals, dog is the one which has something slightly like an intellect and makes a distinction between master and outsider.

I we develop our intellect and understand our nature, we will also be so admirable. This incredible machine (human) has amazing, unimaginable powers. But we are not able to do this – why?

We have STRESS….What is this stress? The clash between the mind and the intellect causes the stress. Mind is guiding us in one way and the intellect in the other way. We listen to the mind as it is powerful but unhappy that we have not done the right thing.

We have to make decisions from morning to evening. We have to choose from the various choices. If we have a perfect intellect then no problem we will make the choices very nicely, no issues. The problem is when the intellect is low and the mind is powerful. The conflict creates stress and difficulty in decision making.

With the inability to decide the choices we have, we follow the herd instinct i.e. follow what the friends of this age group do. May be these are against our basic nature. Because all of them are doing it -we will also do that. By doing something against our nature also creates stress / conflict. Then how to understand our nature or what we want/like? To understand this again we need intellect.

Role of mind: Has feelings and emotions, likes and dislikes.

Role of intellect: Reason, discretion, judgment.

The human mind is like a child and the intellect like an adult. The child requires constant supervision by an adult. So does our mind require constant attention and guidance of your intellect; an uncontrolled mind can shake the human being. The pressure of the mind cannot be handled, creates stress and people spend sleepless nights. The following will help to improve the intellect.

Have a goal and remove the dislikes

Dislikes creates so much problem. We should not have any dislikes, we should like everything. Example: people say they don’t like Monday or weekdays and they are waiting for the weekend to come. Because of their dislike of Mondays – all the Mondays are chaotic and not a good day. This ends up in frustration. Suppose I say I hate heat. It is summer. So the whole of the season I will be unhappy all the time talking about the heat.

Suppose I am a diabetic and I love sweets. When I see the sweets -the mind will ask me to take it as I like it. If I have a strong intellect it will guide me that of course you like sweets but you are diabetic so don’t eat it. I will not eat it if the intellect is powerful. Mind tempts us to do the likes and the intellect is required to guide us. If we start doing only what we like then there is a terrible problem. Because I like sweets and I keep eating only sweets what will happen?

Set a goal. Say I will exercise this whole week. We will be able to do it only if we have the determination. How we will have the determination? only if we don’t have dislikes. Say, I am blogging. I like it and enjoying it. This is there in my mind all the time. Normally I finish the morning household work by say 10.30 am to 11.00 am. Now because I have to sit for blogging and I have the time only till my kids come from school. My love for blogging motivates me to finish all the work by 9.30 a.m. This is possible only when I don’t have dislikes. Suppose I say” I don’t like to cook or clean and I like only blogging”. My mind will tell me you like blogging. Do it. If I only do blogging and I am not cooking. There will be confusion in my house.

Or even though I don’t like cooking I continue to do it (as my family cannot be hungry).

As I am doing a job, that I don’t like -I will not finish it on time and in turn no time for blogging. Effect- frustration. So remove your dislikes and start enjoying whatever you do and have a target? See the difference in you.

Even though I know this – my intellect slips. One day I wanted to sleep or just sit down. I was waiting to finish all the work and sit down. But I got work – one after another and I could not sit down. So I was not in a good mood. My maid is half a vedantian (with my influence). She reminded me didi (sister), you are teaching me and sometimes you forget it. Why you want to sit? Are you born to sleep? What happened to you today – why are you not liking the work? Believe me by sharing your knowledge even if you slip your friends and family will remind you.

Lesson 1: Leave the dislikes and have a goal.

Stop thinking about the past or the future. 

The mind is always worried about the past and anxious about the future. This causes metal disturbance, negative thinking and sorrow.

Normally we believe that work tires us. Work can never tire you. But what tires you is the worry and anxiety.

The child is always energetic and never tried. As they never worry about the past nor anxious about the future.

If we develop our intellect it will control our mind and the worries and anxiety will be removed and we will have super energy for doing the work.

Lesson 2: Stop worrying and remove anxiety.


If we follow the above 2 lessons we can develop the intellect. But ironically, we will be able to do this only if we have intellect. We need intellect to realise that we don’t have intellect. A mad cannot realise he is an insane; he needs an intellect to understand.

Without intellect if we try these lessons we will not succeed and it will lead to further frustrations. For that we need to understand how much our intellect is developed or where do we stand? How to develop the basic intellect?

See part 3 

4 responses »

  1. Needed to send you this very small note to say thanks a lot as before with the pleasant solutions you have discussed on this website. It has been quite open-handed with people like you giving freely what most people would have offered for sale as an electronic book to generate some money for their own end, specifically since you could possibly have tried it if you ever decided. These tricks likewise acted to be the fantastic way to fully grasp that other people online have a similar keenness much like my own to find out many more in regard to this issue. I am certain there are a lot more pleasant situations ahead for individuals that go through your website.

  2. Hello There. I found your blog the use of msn. That is a really well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thank you for the post. I will certainly comeback.

Leave a Reply

