Baingan Bartha

Standard

Baingan Bharta

My mother or mother – in -law makes this in a south Indian style. Frankly, I really don’t enjoy that and it the same with my husband. So, somehow we both never liked that south Indian way of doing it.

One day,  I went somewhere and got really late – so, I requested my maid to make some subzi for me. On that day, I didn’t have any vegetable at home. I called my maid and asked her to buy any subzi of her choice and make it for us.

When I came home – I saw it was baingan bharta. I felt – oh! no. I should have mentioned a specific subzi to her!

What to do? we started eating. It was so tasty and we both loved it.

The very next day, I asked my maid for the recipe. She told a general onion, tomato one. After that, I was regularly trying it and sometimes it was good and a many a times it was not so tasty.

Finally, I found this way of doing it. It comes consistently well.

Ingredients :

Baingan / Brinjal – 2 medium size

(when you choose the baingan – it has to be very light and it should not be very heavy. If it is heavy – then it will have lots of seeds in it. Today, I decided to post this recipe so bought the baingan from the street vendor. He had only 10 baingans and all were weighing heavy. I know for sure it will have lots of seeds. But, then – I thought I can give the tip how to remove the seeds in case you have bought a wrong baingan).

Green chilli – 1 no finely chopped.

Oil – 2 tbsp

Jeera – 1 tsp

Turmeric – 1 to 1 1/2 tsp (Use this much please)

Dhaniya Powder – 2tbsp

Redchilli powder – 1/2 tsp to 1 tsp

Salt – 1 1/2 tsp

Garam masala – 1 tsp

Tomatos – 3 nos (medium size) – chopped fine.

Coriander for garnish.

Method :

  • Roast the baingan in gas on high flame.
  • There are some people who apply oil in the baingan and roast. They claim that it gives a smokey flavour. I have tried it – there is no extra flavour it only spoils our gas.
  • Remove the skin and smash with a potato smasher.
  • Add oil.
  • Mix all the masalas (Turmeric, Dhaniya powder, Redchilli Powder and salt) with 2 tbsp of water.
  • Add jeera to the oil – allow it to splutter.
  • Add the masala and roast it well till oil separates.
  • Add the tomatoes. Cook well.
  • Add the smashed baingan.
  • Mix well and add garam masala.
  • Roast it on low flame for 5 minutes.
  • Garnish with coriander.

meal 1 161 meal 1 101

When you cut open as shown in the above picture. The seeds will be in a lump and they can be removed easily.  Removing the seeds is important as it is not healthy and it also spoils the taste of the subzi.

meal 1 103

meal 1 097 meal 1 098

meal 1 099 meal 1 100

meal 1 104 Baingan Bharta

Note :

  • This is a no onion, garlic recipe.
  • If you are fine with garlic then try this too. Pierce the knife in the raw baingan and insert 3 to 4 garlic and one green chilli in each baingan.
  • Roast this in the gas.
  • Remove the skin and smash the baingan with the garlic and green chilli.
  • Add salt and some oil (any oil which you prefer to eat it raw say mustard or olive oil)
  • Your bartha is ready.
  • There are some comments that I am using tomatoes with skin in most of my recipes and normally people don’t like the skin. See in this recipe if you are going to make a puree of the tomato and add it – it will give a different taste. If your family cannot stand the skin. Then, buy firm tomatoes and remove the skin with the knife and then chop and add.
  • In recipes like resam where I am boiling the tomatoes – then you can put the full tomato in boiling water for 5 minutes and remove the skin and chop and use. This boiling method will not be good for baingan bartha.
  • Make puree of the tomatoes only in cases where I have mentioned.
Leave a Reply

